Legacy

The Onion has just recently published an article that truly speaks to me. The article talks about finding the one true thing that you love and doing it in your free time, in between all your work, life and family commitments. I don’t want to rehash what has been covered very well by the article.

What I want to talk about is my motivation. The things that I do to fill all the spaces between my commitments can be split into 2 rough categories.

Things I do as a pasttime:
– Console gaming
– Reading (Fantasy novels, manga and graphic novels)
– Watching movies
– Watching drama serials.

Things I do because I love them:
– Writing
– Making noise on my guitar
– Blogging
– Photography

I realised the motivation to do the things that I love is to leave a legacy behind me. I don’t consider myself old. So this is not mortality creeping up on me and I suddenly realised I had wasted my life. This is a desire to leave something behind after I am dead. I want people that come after me to know that I existed. In a way, what I do in my day job is in a way contributing to my legacy. The words that I churn out on my keyboard and released to the world via my blog is my way of leaving a piece of me in the world.

I have been trying to write a decent novel for years. I have never got a story to where I thought was good enough for the world to see. But one day, I would like to have at least one book printed with my name on it.

However, if I would to drop dead before the day ends, I think I have something that has my name on it. A Indonesian movie that I have edit some years back. Check out Pirate Brothers if you are interested.

At the end of the day, I want the world to know that ”this”, whatever it maybe, was made by me. I want to be able to say “I made this”

Leave a Reply

